Radio awards red carpet, winners, highlights

The Chaser comedians absolutely destroyed Kyle Sandilands during their hilarious opening monologue at the ACRAs (Australian Commercial Radio Awards).

Andrew Hansen and Chris Taylor are hosting the event which is being held tonight in Brisbane.

Kyle and his KIIS FM co-host Jackie O aren’t at the ACRAs tonight and it’s probably for the best given the number of gags that were hurled their way at the start of the show.

Not long into the opening speech, Taylor joked: “The Masked Singer, of course, has been a huge hit for Channel 10. Must be a lovely change for Jackie O to work on a show alongside an incredibly round, pink-faced monster.”

Hansen then referenced Kyle and Jackie O’s recent contract extension with KIIS FM which will see the pair earn more than $35,000 each for every single show between now and the end of 2024.

“They’ve just signed new contracts giving them each $8 million dollars a year,” Hansen said. “$8 million dollars. If you break that down, that works out as roughly $4 million dollars for every interesting, new thought that Kyle has per year.”

“I don’t know how many of you were at Kyle’s ‘Radio Alive’ session yesterday, but he said his two favourite things in the world are cars and masturbation: so he basically just loves emissions,” Taylor continued. “He’s Greta Thunberg’s worst nightmare.”

Kyle and Jackie O weren’t the only ones who copped it from The Chaser comedians during their opening monologue.

Sydney’s 2Day FM was also on the receiving end of a brutal joke after the station recently sacked its sixth breakfast show in six years due to poor ratings.

“Another year, another axed 2Day FM breakfast show,” Taylor said. “Man, even racehorses get put down more humanely. And now, no-one wants the gig. Literally nobody! George Pell, Julian Assange — they’ve all said, ‘No, we’d rather stay in jail than do 2Day FM breakfast’.”

Triple M’s Hot Breakfast host Eddie McGuire, who isn’t attending, was also the butt of a joke with Taylor saying, “Please don’t use the disabled toilets, they’re specifically reserved for Eddie McGuire to make fun of whichever disabled people he finds in there”.

More than 900 radio professionals from around the country are attending tonight’s awards at Brisbane’s Royal International Convention Centre.

The big award of the night, radio’s equivalent of the Gold Logie, is the award for Best On-Air Team. The FM nominees battling it out for this year’s title are KIIS FM’s Kyle and Jackie O, Nova’s Kate, Tim and Marty, WSFM’s Jonesy and Amanda, Fox FM’s Fifi, Fev and Byron, Nova’s Chrissie, Sam and Browny and Triple M’s Kennedy Molloy.

You can see a full list of nominees here.

Source link